Financing the French Social security system

Urssaf, identified as “ACOSS” on the financial markets, finances the French social model through optimized cash flow management. It uses the money market to finance any temporary gaps in cash flow and to guarantee continuity in social benefit payments.

Contact us

investors@acoss.fr

Follow us

Urssaf's financial missions

Managing cash flow for all the general scheme’s national funds

Urssaf national fund handles cash flow for the other Social Security providers (health, retirement pension, family, industrial accident, and dependency) and ensures that they have the funding they need on a day-to-day basis in order to finance social benefits.

How? By redistributing the contributions it collects to France’s social providers and their partners on a day-to-day basis.
 

Accurately forecasting and optimizing cash flow requirements

To optimize its financing activity, Urssaf national fund creates forecasts in order to get the clearest  possible picture of the amounts to be collected and disbursed. Toward this aim, it monitors and analyses the Social security funds’ statutory cash flow dates, exemptions, and financing needs.
 

Determining the general Social Security scheme’s banking market strategy

Urssaf national fund also sets the general Social Security scheme’s banking market strategy, through the involvement of the National Financial Mission. As the central banking service purchaser, it regularly publishes calls for tender
 

Optimizing self-employed worker’s reserves

Urssaf national fund assumed management of the financial reserves of the self-employed workers’ supplementary retirement pension and disability-death schemes when they were incorporated into the general scheme in 2020. In this capacity, it performs financial operations and is in charge of procurement for the « Self-employed workers’ social protection council » (Conseil de la protection sociale des travailleurs indépendants.)

Accurately forecasting and optimizing cash flow requirements

To optimize its financing activity, Urssaf national fund creates forecasts in order to get the clearest  possible picture of the amounts to be collected and disbursed. Toward this aim, it monitors and analyses the Social security funds’ statutory cash flow dates, exemptions, and financing needs.
 

A financing strategy that’s recognized worldwide

Urssaf’s financing strategy is well-received by the financial markets, in particular by the money markets’ leadind portal CMD (Collaborative Market Data).

  • 2022 : World's first issue of NeuCP and ECP SPO according to the criteria of "social good principles"
  • 2021 : Awarded Best overall ECP issuer worldwide
  • 2020 : Awarded Best overall ECP and NECP issuer worldwide – despite exceptional financing needs which reached a historic level of 90 billion euros
  • 2019 : Awarded Best overall ECP issuer worldwide;
  • 2016, 2017, 2018 : Best ECP issuer award in the sovereign, supranational, and agency category;
     

Consult our reference documents

Our latest press releases

Assurer le financement de la Sécurité sociale

L’Urssaf assure le financement du modèle social français grâce à une gestion optimisée des flux de trésorerie. Elle fait appel au marché monétaire afin de financer les écarts temporaires de trésorerie et garantir la continuité du versement des prestations sociales. 

Pour nous contacter

accédez à notre formulaire

Pour nous suivre

Les missions de financement et de trésorerie

Gérer la trésorerie pour l’ensemble des caisses nationales du régime général

L’Urssaf Caisse nationale pilote la trésorerie des autres organismes de la Sécurité sociale (maladie, retraite, famille, accidents du travail, dépendance) et s’assure chaque jour qu’elle est suffisamment approvisionnée pour financer les prestations sociales. 

Comment ? En leur redistribuant chaque jour les cotisations collectées auprès des entreprises, des indépendants, etc.

Prévoir et optimiser au mieux les besoins de trésorerie 

Pour optimiser son activité de financement, l’Urssaf Caisse nationale réalise des prévisions afin d’anticiper les montants encaissés et décaissés le plus finement possible. Pour cela, elle suit et analyse les échéances de trésorerie réglementaires, les exonérations et les besoins en financement des caisses de Sécurité sociale.

Piloter la stratégie des marchés bancaires pour le régime général de la Sécurité sociale

Elle est également chargée du pilotage de la stratégie des marchés bancaires du régime général de la Sécurité sociale, au sein de la Mission Nationale Financière. En tant que centrale d’achat de services bancaires, elle publie régulièrement des appels d'offres sur lesquels postuler via la plateforme "achat public".  

Valoriser les réserves des travailleurs indépendants 

L’Urssaf Caisse nationale gère également les réserves financières des régimes complémentaires de retraite et d’invalidité décès des travailleurs indépendants, depuis leur intégration au régime général en 2020. Elle réalise à ce titre les opérations financières et assure la passation des marchés du Conseil de la protection sociale des travailleurs indépendants.

Une stratégie de financement reconnue mondialement

La stratégie de financement de l’Urssaf est saluée sur les marchés financiers, notamment par la plateforme de référence sur les marchés monétaires CMD (Collaborative Market Data).

  • 2022 : 1ère émission mondiale de NeuCP et EU CP SPO selon les critères des social bonds principles
  • 2021 et 2019 : Prix du meilleur émetteur mondial toutes catégories confondues pour ses programmes ECP
  • 2020 : Prix du meilleur émetteur mondial toutes catégories confondues pour les programmes ECP et NeuCP, et ce malgré des besoins exceptionnels de financement qui ont atteint le niveau historique de 90 milliards d'euros
  • 2018, 2017, 2016 : Prix du meilleur émetteur mondial au sein de la catégorie des organismes souverains, supranationaux et des agences pour le programme ECP

Consultez nos documents de référence

Retrouvez nos derniers communiqués